Need help identifying ww2 German Theodolite

Discussions on the equipment used by the Axis forces, apart from the things covered in the other sections. Hosted by Juha Tompuri
Busits

Need help identifying ww2 German Theodolite

Post by Busits » 08 Nov 2021 20:47

hello, Newbie here. Big thanx in advance.

Stumbled on to this one. Long story short was found in a presumed ww2 German artillery spotting position on a mountain top, highest ground in the region. And now I'm irritated that I can't find any, and I mean absolutely any, information about it.

So now I'm basically begging for some kind of info about it, pictures would be awesome.

Sorry for the quality of the pictures.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Hans1906

Re: Need help identifying ww2 German Theodolite

Post by Hans1906 » 10 Nov 2021 17:38

Busits, :welcome:

the German language designation is "Nivelliergerät": https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nivelliergerät

Another Internet search for the keywords "Nivelliergerät Wehrmacht" is very certainly helpful for your request...

Unfortunately, that's all I can contribute to this topic, sorry.

Btw. Interesting find, the rusted battery box (?) speaks volumes...

Hans
„Im Leben gibt’s die Bösen und die Guten. Und die dazwischen, das sind die Bagaluten.“

Busits

Post by Busits » 10 Nov 2021 19:41

Much appreciated Hans. would post some emoji too, but can't find those just yet. :D

About the battery box, I think that's a transport container with built in (the top part of the container, made out of aluminium) flat surface podium, used instead of usual tripod legs. It certainly fits like a glove into it.

Now, after finding it, the lack of information given in web environment, my thoughts are that this one might be rare in use at its thinnest.

ewest89

Post by ewest89 » 12 Nov 2021 21:07

ewest89

Post by ewest89 » 13 Nov 2021 21:22